Papyrus

A well known child psychiatrist once told me that a cure for writer’s block was simple. He told me to take a blank sheet of paper out of a notebook, put it on a seat, and sit on it. Wait a minute. This was a very intelligent man. I spent years picking his brain for the latest knowledge on childhood mental health issues and ways to assist families desperately seeking answers for why their child was so challenging. He was also a passionate man with a huge heart and excellent mind. I knew he would have some wise words to share concerning my angst with putting it all down on paper. I thought it was because I had to write so clinically. Was that robbing me of the creative? Did the paper need to be specialty paper? Papyrus perhaps?

It all started with a book about a dog rescue. I read the fiction in two days, tears streaming down my face at the end. I was also doing a lot of fruitless internet dating, returning from dates that were meant for short stories and hilarious endings. I shared some of the stories with my co-workers who often said that I should write a book about my adventures. I thought about calling it Dating After 50 – A Cast of Characters. It was a true adventure and not for the weak at heart.

I’ve always wanted to write the book. Literature is life! I need somewhere to start. The paper awaits. Revisiting that on President’s Day sounds like a good idea.

Published by soulsearcher58

Landlocked beach bum living, working and dreaming in the Midwest. Equestrian enthusiast needing that horse connection.

Leave a comment