It Always Comes to me Mid-Dream While the Cat Sleeps

For eleven days I have been staying in my home, watching time pass during a pandemic. I’m no longer a young person who feels very carefree and invincible. My heart certainly does, don’t get me wrong. I still have plenty that I truly would like to do. Looking back, I would have done things a whole lot differently but hindsight is never helpful. As a writer, most of my thoughts wake me up at night. Thoughts spiral out of control. How long is a pandemic? Am I equipped to handle it, come what may? Being an introvert has helped thus far. Staying in hasn’t been all that bad except when I remember why. To lose control is often the most difficult part. Nothing is worse than an introverted control freak, stuck at home with nowhere to go, especially when the government has shut down the library! And the coffee shop is only drive through! But, alas, it’s spring! I’m mid-dream, remember?

One particularly lonely evening, my heart felt the need to throw open the front door and stand in the yard, right by the solo budding tree in my yard. Right in the center. Looking up, I was reminded that, hey, the stars are still glowing their brilliant light, the moon is still hung in the night sky, and I am truly still here. So returning to my humbleness, I come back inside, grab a warm blanket and sit down on a favorite chair in my entree (front room – there’s a little French thrown in) and collect all the million thoughts I’ve had in my tired brain over the days prior. I organized them into pandemic speak.

During an impending crisis, our human brain really ramps up those what ifs and oh no’s. How much sanitizer do I have? Will my fresh foods diet have to fall by the wayside and will I have to go back to eating processed junk? Will I crave sugar again? What if something other than this scary scenario crops up? What if our water supply is cut off? What if I can’t get my hair cut and colored? What will happen to my loved ones? What if I never see my friends again? Cue the cortisol that ramps up the fight or flight hormones and causes immunity to decrease!

As the days have passed, it’s day eleven, here is what I have learned. A good night sleep is pretty healing. Staying hydrated makes everything work much better and your lungs will thank you. Eating healthy never goes out of fashion, especially during a pandemic. Friends are there always, if only virtually. The sun still rises in the morning. The spring birds are still singing. Planes are still flying over. Kids still play basketball in their driveway. Exercise and daily walks are a very helpful thing to clear your mind. There’s a ton of shows to watch on your smart tv. Your grandkids can message you funny emojis. Take a shower and stay in a routine. Calm down. Say your prayers. Hug your cat, even when he’s sleeping and you are deep in thought mid-dream.

Dream away….

Published by soulsearcher58

Landlocked beach bum living, working and dreaming in the Midwest. Equestrian enthusiast needing that horse connection.

Leave a comment