Coffee Shop Wisdom

Today I blew it. I will not go into detail and I will not forever berate myself. I was feeling somewhat defeated so I did what I always do, I got in my Honda and drove to my favorite coffee shop. Normally I grab something and leave. Today I decided to sit in a leather couch and just rethink things. Today was unlike any other day. I met a German lady who was super full of life. She was knitting a beautiful scarf of many colors. The pattern was exquisite. I asked her how long she has been knitting. She said that she learned as a young child to knit because her mother said if she didn’t have a hobby, she would find her something to do. Her skills told a tale. Not only was she full of wisdom, she was one of the liveliest woman I have ever met. Her attitude and positivity were so inspiring and contagious. She told me where to go to dispel loneliness, how to stop taking care of everyone and everything else and start looking into my life and living more than I currently have been. She talked to everyone who entered the coffee shop, made new friends and acquaintances, encouraged me to go beyond my negative thinking and simply strive to be happy. What a concept!

It’s something I forget. She insisted on taking the high road into life is beautiful. Flip the narrative. It feels good. I can do it.

Published by soulsearcher58

Landlocked beach bum living, working and dreaming in the Midwest. Equestrian enthusiast needing that horse connection.

Leave a comment