Things we may never know

A couple years ago a friend of mine lost his sister to a long battle with breast cancer.  I had only met her twice but felt that honoring her life was very important to those she left behind.  I made a personal phone call, sent a sympathy card and ordered a memorial candle to have shipped to him in her memory.  That was all I was able to do at the time. 

I had no idea the impact that would make on someone’s life. 

The memorial candle was so well received by her husband that he asked for it to be a part of her memorial funeral service.  It was with her at the casket.  And accompanied her to her cremation ceremony.  It meant more to him than I can ever have imagined.  

One small gesture became one beautiful thing that transcends time and place.  One small gesture can help heal a heart.  One small gesture can suture a break.  

When I heard this story, I was flooded with emotion.  There is so much more to do and it begins today. 

Memorial candles will be my next focus.  I have found a beautiful thing to celebrate a life. 

Leave a Reply

